top of page

Winter in Spring

It's April 15th and there's snow on the ground. Not just a light dusting but about an inch of heavy white snow that isn't exactly seasonal. Normally this time of the year is when we are getting the first thunderstorms of the season. I want those so I can sit outside writing and listening to the thunder as lightning lights up the sky. The only benefit that has come out of this winter in spring was that I had an excuse to make my vegetarian chili. Oh how I love my chili. But even with that benefit, I was antsy. I don't like being cooped up in the house. I live my life outside. Whether it's taking photos or playing Pokemon Go, I need to be outside for a good part of the day. The night is for writing and inspiration.

Winter in Spring isn't for me. Spring should be here already. Its half way through the month of April and Iowa has only had a hand full of rain but we've had two large winter storms with a possible storm heading in next weekend (Prom weekend for high schoolers in Cherokee). So the moral is, Iowa isn't actually worth living in if we are going to be getting the same weather as the mountains. I'm not a fan of Iowa already, it's boring and all the good places that the media likes to boost about is either in the South or East parts of the state. Those that live in those areas love it, in Cherokee, its nothing more than an annoyance. If you like Winter in Spring, come join us. If not, don't come to Iowa any time soon.

bottom of page