top of page

A Study in Sherlock

This is another winter in spring day that has inspired me to begin plotting out something new to my writing portfolio. While I was in the middle of reading and waiting to find out if I was going to work, I got the longing to watch one of my favorite shows: BBC's Sherlock. Like usual it inspired me to write. So here I am working on a plot for what I hope will turn into something worthy of being placed onto this website and maybe even my wattpad, a story that takes place in the world of Sherlock Holmes.

It's still hard to believe that as I'm working on this that it was only three years ago that I first discovered BBC's Sherlock thanks to a friend of mine. Of course being a writer and a lover of books, I know the Arthur Canon Doyle stories, but it wasn't till then that I really fell in love with the stories. Bringing it to a modern setting helped with that, I do believe. My love for these stories is what led me to writing my first spec script (can be found in the portfolio page) for Elementary, which I had begun to watch due to the hiatus of BBC's Sherlock.

Out of the shows that we were given during our TV Writing classes, there were two that I was distinctly familiar with: Elementary and NCIS. I chose Elementary due to the fact that I already knew and loved the show while also wanting a reason to justify buying the newest season on Amazon. Plus, while I know NCIS, I'm not a big fan of the show. I've grown up with it due to the fact that my mother is obsessed with the show; even watches Los Angeles and New Orleans religiously. So I chose Elementary for my first attempt at writing for TV and my third attempt at writing a script.

The original plot line for Midnight Darkness didn't work out, so I went back to work on the plot with only three days to turn in a new plot along with the teaser and first act of the script. It worked. I love the new subplots better than the original one. I don't want to give out too much details for what the spec script looks like, you can go check it out if you are curious, but lets just say that I didn't have a full understanding about how the credit card companies worked at the time. What originally looked good on paper just didn't work when I went to put it in writing.

This post started out about one thing and ended up about another. Sounds like how my brain usually works. So I'm going to sign off and work on this plot that I've been thinking up in my head for about three years now, you would think I'd have it figured out by now. I'm hoping to have this in the works soon. Have a fun Winter in Spring. Also here is a link to Elementary: Midnight Darkness.

bottom of page