top of page

Changes in Solitude

Some times I find myself thinking about all the things that have changed in my life of late. I can see them but at the same time they don't feel as though they've changed. It can get messed up in the flow of time, or at least my perception of time. Like today, I go in to work at Tanner's Last Chance at two. It's a change that I knew I was going to have to make. With the ending of school I needed something to fill the void. Writing more than a few paragraphs here and there hasn't fully returned so here I am working two jobs and wanting to get out of this small town that seems to keep getting smaller. They don't like change. It seems that most people don't.

Last night I was talking with a friend about the people who keep thinking that even though her wife is married, her wife is going to keep up the partying we used to due in our early twenties. Change. It seems to get to us when we least expect it. I'm not sure how cannot notice it as it's happening; but in retrospect maybe that's a good thing. As humans, we wouldn't accept it and would fight against it. In some ways, I don't know what I'm talking about, in others, it feels so familiar like the solitude that I've become so comfortable with. I think its time for a change of pace, to leave this town and not look back. There isn't many things left for me here. All my ambitions and goals are out in the world.

bottom of page